From Voluptuous Vixen to Bag of Bones

In the midst of mid-terms and classes all day long, I took a mental break and found myself on sparksummit.com today.  What I discovered, completely shocked me.  

Here’s a little background first: I am a feminist all the way, but even I buckle under my childhood relationship with Disney.  I grew up watching the classic Disney movies and loving everything having to do with Disneyworld, etc.  Now that I am older, I can see all of the issues with these movies, but I’m woman enough to simply acknowledge these issues and still sing along like always.  Of course, I was raised in a home with a chef for a Dad and a top-tiered teacher for a Mom.  My environment warmed me up to gender equity, without even knowing it.  My young adulthood has popped my sparkly little bubble and shown me the patriarchal issues of this world.

That being said, I digress…

Today marks the day that Disney has truly gone too far.  Ty Slobe, of SPARKsummit wrote an eye-opening piece on some horrifying displays that are found in the windows of Barney’s.  

I agree 100% with what Slobe had to say on the subject, so I will just provide the link for you:

http://www.sparksummit.com/2012/10/10/disney-characters-are-losing-weight-at-rapid-speeds/

When did it become okay to morph and alter the body images of characters that have been around for decades?!  These movies, TV shows, and characters are geared for younger audiences, and leave a lasting impact on their development.  If I can relate to character that is a lion, naturally, others can relate to more personified characterization.  The statistics surrounding six year old children with body issues is already stunning enough.  Why would a corporation, built (on the exterior, mind you) on the hopes and dreams of the individual self, allow something this misogenistically audacious to occur?!

I know and love this full-figured and fun villain…….not this horrifying Barbie zombie.

…I’m not even going to comment on Minnie Mouse. 

 

       

Poor, poor Mickey

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Unreal, I have been doing quite a bit of research on Anorexia, and body image recently, mainly because it saturates the media in one form or another; more so than I can ever recall. I didn’t even think to look at Disney! I suppose this is one more step towards securing the control over society ‘norms’, by further inflicting and subjecting children to even more ‘body perfect’ ideals. I feel very angry about the whole situation. It is truly spiraling from the sensible limits of merely being healthy, to a point where children are starving themselves, emulating what many women and men do. It is a problem society is transferring to the youngest and most vulnerable. It is frankly disgusting. Thanks for sharing this info.

    Reply
    • mco9com

       /  October 14, 2012

      You’re absolutely correct! This completely blew my mind when I first came across it. I cannot comprehend why such a child-focused corp. would allow something this blatantly offensive be produced. Our society today has such unrealistic standards of what the norm should be, which only perpetuates more issues that spiral out of control.
      Thank you for your input!

      Reply
      • The Savvy Senorita

         /  October 14, 2012

        Thanks for your response! Yeah, exactly so. Its crazy how society is, how do they then not expect this to affect the children seeing such reactions. It is enough to screw with anyone’s mind, but children’s minds are fertile ground for such notions to take seed. It is very sad.

  2. It really is more than enough to screw with someone’s mind…children in particular. Every new generation is readily soaking up every message passed their way, and images like this are more damaging than people realize. It is very, very sad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

